IEEE Honors Pioneering Engineers

28 grudnia, 2021 Wyłączone przez admin

Meet the recipients of the 2022 IEEE medals, service awards, honorary membership, and corporate recognition. The awards are presented on behalf of the IEEE Board of Directors.IEEE MEDAL OF HONORSponsor: IEEE FoundationASAD M. MADNIUniversity of California, Los Angeles“For pioneering contributions to the development and commercialization of innovative sensing and systems technologies, and for distinguished research leadership.”IEEE FRANCES E. ALLEN MEDALSponsor: IBMCorecipients:EUGENE W. MYERSMax Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics and Center for Systems Biology Dresden, GermanyWEBB MILLERThe Pennsylvania State University, retiredState College, Pa.“For pioneering contributions to sequence analysis algorithms and their applications to biosequence search, genome sequencing, and comparative genome analyses.”IEEE ALEXANDER GRAHAM BELL MEDALSponsor: Nokia Bell LabsP. R. KumarTexas A&M UniversityCollege Station“For seminal contributions to the modeling, analysis, and design of wireless networks.”IEEE MILDRED DRESSELHAUS MEDALSponsor: GoogleANANTHA CHANDRAKASANMIT“For contributions to ultralow-power circuits and systems, and for leadership in academia and advancing diversity in the profession.”IEEE EDISON MEDALSponsor: Samsung Electronics Co.ALAN BOVIKThe University of Texas at Austin”For pioneering high-impact scientific and engineering contributions leading to the perceptually optimized global streaming and sharing of visual media.”IEEE MEDAL FOR ENVIRONMENTAL AND SAFETY TECHNOLOGIESSponsor: Toyota Motor Corp.Corecipients:SAGAWA MASATOAdvanced Magnetic MaterialsKorat, ThailandJOHN J. CROATJohn Croat Consulting, Inc.Naples, Fla.“For contributions to the development of rare earth-iron-boron permanent magnets for use in high-efficiency motors, generators, and other devices.”IEEE FOUNDERS MEDALSponsor: IEEE Richard and Mary Jo Stanley Memorial Fund of the IEEE FoundationJOHN BROOKS SLAUGHTERUniversity of Southern California, Los Angeles“For leadership and administration significantly advancing inclusion and racial diversity in the engineering profession across government, academic, and non-profit organizations.”IEEE RICHARD W. HAMMING MEDALSponsor: QualcommMADHU SUDANHarvard“For fundamental contributions to probabilistically checkable proofs and list decoding of Reed-Solomon codes.”IEEE MEDAL FOR INNOVATIONS IN HEALTHCARE TECHNOLOGYSponsor: IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology SocietyJAMES G. FUJIMOTOMIT“For pioneering the development and commercialization of optical coherence tomography for medical imaging and diagnostics.”IEEE THEODORE W. HISSEY OUTSTANDING YOUNG PROFESSIONAL AWARDSponsor: IEEE Young Professionals, Photonics Society, Power & Energy SocietyEDHEM (EDDIE) ČUSTOVIĆLa Trobe UniversityBundoora, Victoria, Australia“For leadership in the empowerment and development of technology professionals globally.”IEEE JACK S. KILBY SIGNAL PROCESSING MEDALSponsor: AppleDAVID L. DONOHOStanford“For groundbreaking contributions to sparse signal recovery and compressed sensing.”IEEE/RSE JAMES CLERK MAXWELL MEDALFunder: ARMINGO WOLFFIMST GmbHKamp-Lintfort, Germany“For the development of numerical electromagnetic field analysis techniques to design advanced mobile and satellite communication systems.”IEEE JAMES H. MULLIGAN, JR. EDUCATION MEDALSponsor: MathWorks, Pearson, Lockheed Martin Corp., and the IEEE Life Members FundNED MOHANUniversity of MinnesotaMinneapolis“For leadership in power engineering education by developing courses, textbooks, labs, and a faculty network.”IEEE JUN-ICHI NISHIZAWA MEDALSponsor: The Federation of Electric Power Companies, JapanUMESH K. MISHRAUniversity of California, Santa Barbara“For contributions to the development of gallium nitride-based electronics.”IEEE ROBERT N. NOYCE MEDALSponsor: Intel Corp.JINGSHENG JASON CONGUniversity of California, Los Angeles“For fundamental contributions to electronic design automation and FPGA design methods.”IEEE DENNIS J. PICARD MEDAL FOR RADAR TECHNOLOGIES AND APPLICATIONSSponsor: Raytheon TechnologiesMOENESS G. AMINVillanova University, Pa.“For contributions to radar signal processing across a wide range of applications including through-the-wall imaging and health monitoring.”IEEE MEDAL IN POWER ENGINEERINGSponsors: IEEE Industry Applications, Industrial Electronics, Power Electronics, and Power & Energy societiesTHOMAS M. JAHNSUniversity of Wisconsin, Madison“For contributions to the development of high-efficiency permanent magnet machines and drives.”IEEE SIMON RAMO MEDALSponsor: Northrop Grumman Corp.PRAVIN VARAIYAUniversity of California, Berkeley“For seminal contributions to the engineering, analysis, and design of complex energy, transportation, and communication systems.”IEEE JOHN VON NEUMANN MEDALSponsor: IBM Corp.DEBORAH ESTRINCornell “For leadership in mobile and wireless sensing systems technologies and applications, including personal health management.”IEEE CORPORATE INNOVATION AWARDSponsor: IEEETHE ARGO PROGRAMWoods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Mass.“For innovation in large-scale autonomous observations in oceanography with global impacts in marine and climate science and technology.”IEEE RICHARD M. EMBERSON AWARDSponsor: IEEE Technical Activities BoardFRED MINTZERBlue Gene Watson Supercomputer Center IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, retiredYorktown Heights, N.Y.“For outstanding leadership of technical activities including the IEEE Collabratec and TAB technology-centric communities.”IEEE HARADEN PRATT AWARDSponsor: IEEE FoundationJOSEPH V. LILLIEBIZPHYX, retiredLafayette, La.“For sustained and outstanding focus on the engagement of volunteers and staff in implementing continuous improvement of IEEE operations.”IEEE HONORARY MEMBERSHIPSponsor: IEEECALYAMPUDI RADHAKRISHNA (C.R.) RAOThe Pennsylvania State UniversityState College, Pa.University at Buffalo“For contributions to fundamental statistical theories and their applications to engineering and science, particularly in signal processing and communications.”For additional information on the recipients and the awards process, visit the IEEE Awards website.